Libera Libro

Free the books: 94053494

Inf506 Task 1:

Posted by arlekeno on November 21, 2011

(a) define what social networking is (in your own words);

(b) list what social networking technologies and sites you already use (for personal, work and study purposes); and

(c) describe what you expect to learn from completing INF506.

 

A) What is Social networking to me?

I see social networking as using internet tools to stay in touch with other people.

This can be done through shared activities such as gaming (WOW, Minecraft, Gaia) , or just by chatting on Forums (Front Row Forums, CSU Forums), or my personal favourite, through sites such as Facebook, where I can chat message my friends, leave posts for them individually or in groups, allow access to my photos and invite people to events.

To me its a lot like all the things we coudl do in person if we had the time, money or lack of distance to sit down and chat.

b) What do I use?

i) Work Supplied:

  1. MAANG (NSW DET version of FB, very clumsy)
  2. DET Mail.

ii) Social Sites:

  1. Facebook
  2. ( used to use Myspace but no one is on it anymore except a few bands)
  3. Google +
  4. Linkedin
  5. Post Secret

iii) Forums:

  1.  Front Row Forums ( sport)
  2. Esperanto Forumoj ( language foum),
  3.  Dice of Doom forum and podcast.
  4.  CSU forums.
  5. (Facebook groups)
  6. Ship of fools

iv) Photosharing:

  1. Flickr
  2. Instagram
  3. Youtube
  4. Twitter

v) Blogging:

  1. Weebly
  2. Wordpres

vi) Chat:

  1. Skype
  2. Google
  3. Yahoo
  4. MSN Messenger
  5. (Facebook Chat).

vii) Gaming:

  1. Secone Life
  2. Minecraft

viii) Linkdump:

Delicious.

ix) Mail

  1. Google
  2. Yahoo

x) Music

iTunes Ping

 

There are also several I have use in the past but not anymore, such as Orkut, but these things come and go in waves.

c) What do I expect to learn?

Well, I expect to learn a lot I already know, since I have been online since the Early 90’s, but I expect to learn a lot more about other technologies and sites available I am not familiar with, and a bit of what is behind them.

I expect to learn theory to back up how we (TLs) can use these tools. I expect I will find new ways to use the tools I know about, and I expect to have something useful to take back with me at the start of 2012.

I also expect to learn about project design( since it is in the course outline) but what I really want, is something I can take to my school and start.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
