Libera Libro

Free the books: 94053494

Fullan Chap5: Creating and sharing knowledge.

Posted by arlekeno on October 7, 2009

Not sure what Fullan means by Knowledge here, especially Hidden knowledge, maybe all will be revealed.

Information is recorded (paper etc) Knowledge is in people, a social phenomenon… I think he means knowledge includes the links and social context.

Information is not pertinent until people decide what it means and why it matters… It is a mistake to focus on information rather than its use.

I have thought about this in terms of trivia, and Librarians searching for information. I think information is a tool, and like any tool it is what we do with it that matters.

We can teach information easily, but not knowledge (pg117) hard to even work out what knowledge we want to pass on… I think this is why I work part time in a library, it is the only way I think I will really get the hang of being a Librarian ( no offense to my EXTREMELY good lecturers of course).

Pg 118 from Nonaka & Takeuchi a study of Japanese companies. They succeeded because they could create, pass on, and embody in service knowledge. ALSO. Explicit knowledge: words and numbers communicated in data/information. Tacit Knowledge: Skills, beliefs and understanding (unconscious).Highly personal, felt like hunches. I am reminded of the Japanese apprenticeships of old, you learned at the hand of your master, and you STOLE the skills. ( you learned by watching and doing over time).

people do not voluntarily share knowledge unless culture favours exchange. I take this to mean, you have the opportunity to do it and it is appreciated. Or what I would call a good working environment. I am not sure how this would work in a competitive merit based system though.

I like this idea that we don’t change through analyze-think-change, but through see-feel-change. So it is a leaders job to change the context so people go with the flow 🙂  “In collaborative cultures, sharing and support create trust.”

A culture of care is vital for successful performance. 5 keys are

  1. Mutual trust.
  2. Active Empathy
  3. Access to help.
  4. Lenience in Judgement.
  5. Courage.

All this talk of knowledge sharing seems to make TEAM BUILDING EXERCISES not as stupid as I thought. (Admittedly thought most bonding I have done in team building exercises is chatting about how stupid they are 🙂 Mind you, I still dislike Paintballing, where you are made competitive and risk injury, I think it is more divisive.

All the talk of peer groups visiting reminds me of local library associations ( most schools only have one librarian unlike other faculties). Works well if Cover is provided ($$$).

Leave a Reply

 
