Libera Libro

Free the books: 94053494

Fullan Chap 3: Understanding Change.

Posted by arlekeno on October 6, 2009

Change is Messy = Change gives opportunity…. CRISITUNITY!

Change is in response to disturbance: I agree, e.g. Children in a school drop rubbish everywhere, this leads to changes in a number of things. e.g. Staff attitude and duties, playground roster, punishments, where kids can sit, what is sold at the canteen etc.

A view of change: 1) We are frozen: we are not open to change. 2) Unfreezing: the initiation of change ( i.e. teachers getting sick of playground rubbish and wanting to change things). 3) Refreezing: Becoming frozen in a new way.

I like this view, it seems accurate to me from my experience. I think of my current view to my organisation’s communication systems, we had a way of doing things, we changed them to be more computer reliant, but we have not refrozen yet, we are still reviewing the system.

This is the simplest of all the models, the others go into more depth.For Example, Hancocks (pg 40) , attempting to define the prob, search for solution, assessing if it worked and so on.  I think this one is MORE accurate because it is more specific about all the phases as opposed to the general 3 stages of the first view.

Also  interesting is the views of change for both top down and bottom up change.

Systems are messy, mostly due to individual factors, such as friendships, personal approaches etc. Many people at work think my organisation suffers from this.I think they are right.

I found the 6 leadership styles interesting.

  1. Coercive.
  2. Authoritative.
  3. Affiliative.
  4. Democratic.
  5. Pacesetting.
  6. Coaching.

I can understand why the coercive leadership style in change can be a problem, though I know some people who like this style of leader. But I was surprised that pacesetting was considered negative, but the reasons given make sense.

UNDERSTANDING CHANGE.

The goal is not to innovate most: This seems fair enough. You can’t change everything at once.

It is not enough to have the best ideas: Oh how well I know this to be true.

Appreciate the Implementation dip: I think this is the biggest point. Things will get worse before they get better. Slow down in work, frustration etc. Very important to remember it will happen and try to lessen it.

Reculturing is the name of the game: Takes time and never really ends.

Never a checklist, always complexity:

I also like the phrase Complexity science.

page 71-73. Me as a leader? I will do this. .. soonish.

Leave a Reply

 
