Libera Libro

Free the books: 94053494

Decision making and problem solving.

Posted by arlekeno on August 26, 2009

Harvey, Bearley, Corkum 2001. “Core steps in decision making”

The first paragraph reminds me of the term proactive, which is in keeping with later talk of looking at problems as opportunities, (the Chinese hace the same word for crisis and opportunity… Yes, Crisitunity HOMER SIMPSON).

The decision making process is pretty obvious, i can’t see why peole have a problem with it… hhmm, maybe I should use the process to look at that.

  1. Problem Identification- People make poor solutions for problems.
  2. Developing possible solutions. (ok, lets work out why they make poor choices, umm, they don’t think or are too pressured and don’t have enough time, so Lets look fr problems in advance so we can head them off, e.g. be proactive, or actualley think about solutions that cover all bases and not just one thus making more problems later).
  3. Choose a   course of action- Hmmm, I would say, listen to the staff, be consistant as an executive and staff together working to same plan and people will know what the issues are and maybe identify and cut them off straight away, oh, and good meeting protocol also is helpful.

I like the talk of consensus  as opposed to democracy in decision making. People will sabotage things they don’t like, or just not do them and they fail. The idea of trial programmes in the next reading also useful for this I think.

Looking at the 6 step approach. (pg19 of reading, 40 of book) it all makes sense, and I like the word SITNA, situation that needs attention instead of problem.

I agree we need a clear vision, and a clear dialogue.. and while we are at it CONSISTENCY. Oh, and good oversite from executive of committees. I have seen my work place go toxic, not fun, because a lot of things are not done right.

the my solution v your solution poblem, and stacking of committees can be a big problem. a BIG problem, I almost did not go back to my school after the end of last year.

I would also like committees to be less dismissiive, or maybe have more political will. One of the problems at my school is the playground cleanliness. I would like to do the Japanese method of making kids responsible for the cleaning. But I am told this will never fly. Maybe not but I would like to try it.

But that is a lack of will, not of consensus. But if there is a lack of will, or consistency, or even fairness, then people will loose faith with the system.

The model in this reading is Great, and logical, and says what should happen. But where i work it doesn’t so I am very frustrated at times.

Hough, Payne 1997: collaborative decision making teams.

Good to see last semesters talk on learning communities was not a one off.

I liked the definitions of leadership styles. The Autocratic and Bureaucratic closed systems. And Consultive and collegial open systems. I am used to Bureaucratic and consultive myself.

again I do think committees are a good idea, but they are also extra work for no extra time or money allowance, they can be stacked and if not supervised make decisions that are bad for the rest of the school.

Committees MUST be representative of the stakeholders. When this does not happen you end up with faculties at war within a school… i.e. last year at my school. Also there should be NO SECRET MEETINGS, or secret bloc meetings of committee.

Now the idea that school structure affects teaching and student behaviour intrigues me. Does a more independant teacher make a more independant student?

I would love to be in a school where the recomendations really happened.

Leave a Reply

 
