Libera Libro

Free the books: 94053494

Topic 6: Management implications

Posted by arlekeno on April 14, 2009

Just so you know, I am taking some peoples advice and skipping to Topic 6. Hopefully this will allow me to get a decent crack at the first assesment task which I am way behind on ( yay pneumonia).

Topic 6.1: Itnro to management.

Response to Sanders, R. (2004): Chapter 13: Conflict resolution.

All this conflict resolution stuff we know, it is just that we often need to be reiminded.. especially when emotional.

I don’t think I can find three new things i have learned from this piece, but I may need assertiveness training, so I don’t feel reluctant to take time off (until the situation is really bad) or I am more prepared to just tell bosses what I think .

Response to Covey, S.R. (1989): The seven habits of highly effective people

All this seems more relevant to my personal life than my professional life, though there are a few things i could change professionally, like taking more risks ( even if they could get me fired)… just not during a recession. I do like this habit 3: put first things first. I guess to me, this means don’t procrastinate or let minor things in the way of big things.

I like the time management matrix, it is a very logical and easy to understand way to set the dilemma of time management out. I fear i may recognise myself some days as being quadrant heavy… just at times involving deadlines ( such as special provisions applications or the first essay in this unit after being sick for a month!) luckily though, I can say I am not here daily.

OOHH, I like Pareto Principle. 80% of results flow out of 20% of activities. ( makes you wonder why you bother with the rest of the time? ). The concept of using quadrant 2, to me seems a lot like, a stitch in time saves nine, an ounce of prevention v a pound of cure, and putting something away for a rainy day combined. I can see it everywhere, even in football refereeing, if I am too lax at the start of the game, problems/fouls can occur later, but if i am heavy handed first up, then the game is usually smooth. This is the same for classes and for when I was managing teachers aides time.

Response to:http://chronicle.com/jobs/news/2007/05/2007052301c/careers.html

I like how Covey talks of INTERDEPENDENCE, to be part of an actual team. I think this is important to our role.

I dislike him calling T.L.s human though, we are far superior to that! lol

Was a bit shocked there would be no reference desk ( i hope they have one still there combined with other functions, not everyone is good at finding things and using the photocopier).
THe idea of an online reference desk intrigues me, especially the after hours bit… could we employ a librarian in India to stay online past our closing time? And I like the idea of students booking consltation times with T.Ls as they do with proffesors. (would also be a good way to measure supply and demand, think EBL).

Repsonse to Webber: http://www.fastcompany.com/magazine/24/senge.html

There is a universla resistor to change? not just intertia or dumb?

it is the machine age itself! We are not machines.

I can see the problems with the Hero-leader idea which is not change friendly. I wonder how much this concept has caused the current Global financial crisis?



Leave a Reply

 
