Libera Libro

Free the books: 94053494

Hello world!

Posted by arlekeno on March 4, 2009

Welcome to WordPress.com. This is your first post. Edit or delete it and start blogging!

Sounds like a good starting line. A rote reply to joining but nice all the same.

I am required to start this blog as a reflective learning journal for my Masters degree in Teacher Librarianship.

It will be used throughout the entire 2 years of my course but for now it is for ETL401 Assignment 2 task c. Which is …

A critical synthesis of your reflection on how your view of the role of the teacher librarian may have changed during the subject. This should include examples captured from your personal blog and from your contribution to and reading of the ETL401 forum ( about 750 words).

As you can see, I have to use the forum as well.

 

Before I tell you what I think the role of a T.L. is now, I will tell you what I used to think it was.

In primary school, I thought the School Librarian was there to loan books, teach us how to find books and read to us.

In High School ( the one I am at now as a matter of fact). With the exception of the reading to us, I thought the same. On top of thies, they were there to guide us in finding the books we needed for assesments.

In College I really only chatted to the Librarian  since by then I knew how to find most of what I needed ( he was a nice chap too).

When I started teaching I thought the librarians role was all of these things ( well, again not reading to me), but aside from borrowing, they were a resource, the person who knew what teh school had and where to get it.

If I had a class they were another teacher capable of helping provide learning (and control). An ally in education.

I knew I wanted to get into Libraries though, I think in Systems, I am a generalist when it comes to knowledge, and I prefer small group or team teachign to regular classroom teaching.

And when I started, FINALLy, after 5 years got into the library, I thought my job was to find the resources for other teachers. Help manage classes in the library. Manage the collection, ( I particularly liked buying graphic novels and loathed the culling), and do other general library tasks, such as computer lab boookings and photocopying.

What do I think now? Well, that will be my next blog.

2 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. […] https://liberalibro.wordpress.com/2009/03/04/hello-world/ […]

Leave a Reply

 
